By continuing your visit on this site, you accept the use of cookies to ensure that your visit goes smoothly.

Great businesses, talented artists, awesome peeps, ...


Wednesday, 22 July 2015 21:10

Lambda Literary Opens Submissions Period For The 28th Annual Lambda Literary Awards

Written by 

lambda literary awards



Lambda Literary is proud to announce the opening of the submissions period for the 28th Annual Lambda Literary Awards (Lammys). Entering their 28th year, the Lammys honor books in more than twenty genres ranging from literary fiction and poetry to speculative fiction, graphic novels and memoir.

«As the most comprehensive LGBTQ book awards, the Lammys ensure that LGBTQ stories are recognized and retold as part of the literature of the world,» said Lambda Literary Award Administrator Kathleen DeBold.

Books submitted for consideration in this Lammys cycle must be published between January 1st and December 31st, 2015 and meet the Lammys Submission GuidelinesLammys Submission Guidelines. Finalists will be announced in March 2016 and Lammy Awards will be presented at the annual Lambda Literary Awards gala planned for early June of 2016 in New York City.

Lambda Literary is, for the first time, adding the Lammy category of Transgender Poetry in response to the growth in the genre.

«Poetry is the byway through which the lyricism of our crucial emotional and intellectual interior lives can be fully realized,» said William Johnson, Lambda Literary Managing Editor who has been working closely with Trans poets and publishers to establish this new Lammy category. «By offering a Trans Poetry Award, Lambda Literary affirms the importance of poetry as a literary form that offers dynamic insights into our genuine selves, as well as the vital significance that these insights play in our ongoing cultural conversation.»

The Lammys celebrate the best in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender literature and honor groundbreaking work by members of the LGBT literary community. Since its inception in 1989, Lambda Literary has awarded more than 525 Lammys to outstanding authors including Dorothy Allison, Edmund White, Cherrie Moraga, Leslie Feinberg, Samuel R. Delany, Kate Bornstein, Armistead Maupin, Rita Mae Brown, John Waters and Hilton Als.

The revised guidelinesrevised guidelines and online submission formonline submission form are available on the Lambda Literary websitewebsite. The submission period will close on December 1, 2015.


Lezbelib is the only magazine for LGBTQ+ women that daily keeps you updated about what is happening in the world for our community.

Through the magazine, we meet celebrities, artists and indie people. We give visibility, we support projects, we promote events, actions and companies.

Lezbelib also hopes to provide a space for exchanges and meetings, a space where you feel free to be yourself.