By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies to ensure that your visit runs smoothly.

Friday, 01 June 2018 16:59

The 30th annual Lambda Literary Awards to take place on June 4 in New York

Written by  Lambda Literary

the 30th lammys



Lambda Literary, the nation's oldest and largest literary arts organization advancing LGBTQ literature, will be awarding Edmund White and Roxane Gay at the 30th Annual Lambda Literary Awards ("Lammys") on Monday, June 4th in New York City.

White and Gay will be honored along with the winning authors of 23 separate LGBTQ literary categories determined by over 60 judges.

Legendary Comedian Kate Clinton will Emcee the event.

The Lammys bring together over 500 attendees, sponsors, and celebrities to celebrate excellence in LGBTQ literature, making it the most glamorous and prestigious LGBTQ literary event in the world.


  • Edmund White(award-winning novelist, memoirist, and essayist)
  • Roxane Gay (bestselling author, professor, and The New York Times opinion writer)
  • Kate Clinton (political humorist and LGBTQ activist)
  • Rebecca Solnit (award-winning author and contributing editor at Harper's Magazine)
  • Alison Bechdel (MacArthur Fellow and award-winning author of Fun Home)
  • Nicole Dennis-Benn (author of Lammy winner Here Comes the Sun)
  • Nancy Bereano (founder and publisher of Firebrand Books)
  • Kate Bornstein (author of Gender Outlaw and celebrated performance artist)
  • Katherine Forrest (author of legendary Kate Delafield series)
  • Rigoberto Gonzalez (Guggenheim and NEA Fellow, author and poet)
  • Juliana Huxtable (Poet, artist, DJ)
  • Michael Nava (author of legendary Henry Rios mystery series)
  • Tommy "Teebs" Pico (poet and author of Junk)
  • S. Chris Shirley (award winning director and author)
  • Pamela Sneed (poet and author of Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery and KONG)
  • Mecca Jamilah Sullivan (Lambda Literary and Edmund White Award finalist)
  • Jeanne Thornton (Lammy nominated author and co-editor of Instar Books)
  • Alok Vaid-Menon (gender non-conforming writer and performance artist)
  • Taylor Trensch (actor, Dear Evan Hansen on Broadway)
  • Carmelita Tropicana (Obie-winning performance artists)
  • Paula Vogel (Pulitzer Prize winning playwright for How I Learned to Drive)
  • Rick Whitaker (Award-winning author of An Honest Ghost)


Monday, June 4, 2018

5:30 pm: Red Carpet & VIP Cocktail Reception at NYU Skirball Center

7:00 pm: Ceremony at NYU Skirball Center


NYU Skirball Center for Performing Arts

566 LaGuardia Place, New York, NY 10012


Lambda Literary believes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when stories are written, published and read.

Lambda Literary nurtures and advocates for LGBTQ writers, elevating the impact of their words to create community, preserve legacies, and affirm the value of their stories and lives.

Lambda Literary programs include: the Lambda Literary Awards, the Writers Retreat for Emerging LGBTQ Voices, LGBTQ Writers in Schools, Lambda LitFest LA, and the web magazine Lambda Literary Review.

To learn more, visit


Lezbelib is the online magazine that helps LGBTQ+ women to stay updated with entertaining blogs and breaking news about LGBT rights.