Thursday, 17 November 2011 00:16

2011 Stonewall Awards

Written by 


The 6th edition of Stonewall awards, rewarding people who encourage, inspire or do the most for gays, lesbians and bisexual in the year, has took place. Without much surprise, Melanie Philips was elected the bigot of the year and the award for the hero of the year was received by Roger Crouch.

So Melanie Philips received the award of the bigot of the year after her super classy remarks comparing us to animals.

She also wrote Britain is in the grip of a "Government-backed drive to promote the gay agenda" and claiming that gay people "risk becoming the new McCarthyites" simply because they want to stay at a bed and breakfast.

The hero of the year is named Roger Crouch.

According to Stonewall, in 2010, Roger Crouch went through every father’s worst nightmare when his son, Dominic, took his own life. Dominic had allegedly experienced homophobic bullying at school .

Since Dominic’s death, Roger has dedicated himself to working to raise awareness of homophobic bullying in schools.

Here the list of the other awards:

Entertainer of the Year's Nominees
• Christopher Plummer (Beginners)

• Harry Derbidge (The Only Way is Essex, ITV2)
• Jane Hazlegrove (Casualty, BBC1)
• Jessie J
• Matt Smith (Christopher and His Kind, BBC2)

The award was received by Jane Hazlegrove (Casualty, BBC1)an English actress who is currently playing Kathleen "Dixie" Dixon in Casualty.

Broadcast of the Year's Nominees
• Torchwood (BBC1)

• Lip Service (BBC3)
• The Night Watch (BBC2)
• Jamie’s Dream School (C4)
• The World’s Worst Place to be Gay? (BBC3)

Openly-gay Radio 1 DJ Scott Mills travelled to the centre of an international row about homophobic legislation by visiting Uganda in the midst of debate over the so called 'Kill the Gays' Bill. The judges were struck by the 'courageous and inspiring story'.

Publication of the Year's Nominees
• People Management

• Nursing Standard
• Derby Telegraph
• SoSoGay
• Guardian Weekend

Journalist of the Year's Nominees
• Matthew Cain (C4 News)

• Vanessa Feltz (Radio 2, Daily Express, BBC London)
• Grizelda (Private Eye, The Spectator)
• Matthew Todd (Attitude)
• Phil Reay-Smith (Daybreak, ITV1)

Vanessa said: 'If I get another caller saying "It's Adam and Eve not Adam and Steve" I will shoot myself in the heart. I am fighting the good fight as hard as I can, and will continue to fight!'

Writer of the Year's Nominees
• Jodi Picoult, Sing You Home

• Eleanor Catton, The Rehearsal
• Alan Hollinghurst, The Stranger’s Child
• Philip Hensher, King of the Badgers
• Ali Smith, There but for the

The Stranger's Child is Alan Hollinghurst's first book. This novel is a story about a gay love, erasure and resilience.

Politician of the Year's Nominees
• Chris Bryant MP

• Nigel Evans MP
• Ruth Davidson MSP
• Helen Mary Jones
• Jeremy Browne MP

Chris Bryant MP is an openly gay British Labour Party politician, who has been the Member of Parliament (MP) for Rhondda since 2001.

Sportsperson of the Year's Nominees
• Steven Davies

• Anton Hysen
• Lawn Tennis Association
• The Gay Outdoor Club
• Ben Cohen

Anton Hysén is a Swedish football player who plays in the Swedish fourth division for Utsiktens BK.

Stonewall Community Group of the Year

UK Black Pride

Special Entertainer Award - Cosmo the Jack Russell (Beginners). Cosmo stole the show as well as viewers’ hearts in his role as Arthur in the hit movie Beginners. He won a Stonewall Award as the most gay-friendly dog in cinema history.