By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies to ensure that your visit runs smoothly.

Friday, 03 April 2015 15:05

15 States Urge The U.S. Supreme Court To Maintain The Marriage Equality Ban

Written by 

Supreme Court



15 states ask the Supreme Court to maintain the marriage equality ban to leave the matter in the hands of voters.

These states include Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Oklahoma, Utah and West Virginia (where the prohibition of equal marriage was repealed by a court); and Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Texas (which currently ban marriage equality).

They believe that removing the ban would "incalculable damage to our civic life."

I understand they feel like we lay down the law, but could they finally understand that it will not change anything for them, it simply restores an injustice!

By cons, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and Tennessee require that the U.S. Constitution bans states from denying marriage to same-sex couples.

I recall that the Supreme Court of the United States will begin to hear arguments on April 28.


Lezbelib is the online magazine that helps LGBTQ+ women to stay updated with entertaining blogs and breaking news about LGBT rights.