Wednesday, 16 August 2017 22:10

Breaking news: Texas bathroom bill is dead!

Written by 



We just heard the good news, Texas anti-trans bill is dead!

Indeed, the Senate Bill 6 was heading to the House after its approval by the Senate before then heading to the governor's office, but the House just ended this special summer session with no vote on the bathroom bill.

Human Rights Campaign tweeted earlier today:

"BREAKING: Texas House adjourns sine die, ending #txlege special session without passing any new anti-#transgender legislation! #YallMeansAll

— HumanRightsCampaign (@HRC) August 16, 2017"

The mobilization was important and perhaps even more important than the one that had taken place in North Carolina.

Thanks to all those who have demonstrated in the streets and the support of large companies, sports leagues, and many artists, today we have a great victory in Texas!

Who opposed the bill?

  • Major corporations
  • Clergy members
  • House Speaker Joe Straus (Rep.)
  • Chairman of the House State Affairs Committee Byron Cook (Rep.)
  • The NBA and NFL indicated that this discrimination could have an impact on future events. Sporting events could be canceled like in North Carolina.
  • The Dallas ice hockey team, the Dallas Stars, also opposed the measure a few days ago by stating: "The Dallas Stars stands strongly opposed to any legislation perceived as discriminatory, including proposed bathroom legislation. Dallas welcomes all, and we welcome all." This is the first hockey team to have denounced the legislation.
  • The owner of the Dallas Stars team, Bob McNair, also opposed it.
  • American football team Dallas Cowboys has done a lot of publicity against this initiative.
  • The mayors of Dallas, Austin, and San Antonio, as I mentioned in a previous article, were worried about the tourism impact, especially on hotel reservations.
  • Over 140 personalities from music, art, and culture have signed an open letter to Texas lawmakers in which they said they would cancel their shows in the state if the bill was approved. These artists include Cyndi Lauper, Sting, Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Alicia Keys, Ani DiFranco, St. Vincent Laverne Cox, Tegan and Sara, Britney Spears, Kesha, Ewan McGregor, Julianne Moore, Whoopi Goldberg and many others. You can see the complete list on Texas Together.